2019 Appeal Update

Your Help Is Needed to Reach Our $75,000 Annual Appeal Goal!

Coming off the heels of a successful campaign that raised nearly $2.5M for the SRSF flagship early-career research award program, the organization is now turning its attention to ongoing, renewable fundraising through the 2019 Annual Appeal.

On an annual basis, the Sleep Research Society Foundation receives between 30-40 applications for young investigator grants and is only able to fund about 10-20% of applicants. With so many qualified researchers, the SRSF must find ways to provide greater financial support.

As a member of SRS, you likely understand the importance of the Foundation and its mission, as our programs make a profound impact on the next generation of sleep and circadian researchers. Specifically, SRSF funds programs such as the Sleep Meeting Mentor Program, Travel Awards to specialized meetings such as Advances in Sleep & Circadian Sciences, International/Domestic Match Programs, travel awards to APSS, and scholarships to attend the Young Investigator’s Research Forum.

Historically, every $1 contributed to the SRS Foundation amounts to $14 in grant funding from the NIH and other private funding sources.*  This is an amazing return on investment and a statistic we are thrilled to promote.  As we ramp up our fundraising efforts in 2019 to expand our offerings that benefit trainees and other early-career investigators, we are taking a proactive approach to help us achieve our $75,000 goal.

Your support is critical to not only funding the bright minds currently in the field, but necessary if we are to continue to recruit and retain the next generation of brilliant sleep and circadian researchers!

SRSF Logo, blue and teal

Meet the Leadership Team

Reid circle image

Kathryn Jean Reid, PhD
Northwestern University

Elizabeth B. Klerman, MD, PhD
Harvard University

Josiane L. Broussard, PhD
Colorado State University

Christopher M. Depner, PhD
University of Colorado Boulder

Megan E. Petrov, PhD
Arizona State University

Philip Cheng, PhD
Henry Ford Health System

Kristen Knutson, PhD
Northwestern University

Michael A. Grandner, PhD
University of Arizona

Sarah Farabi, PhD
Barnes-Jewish College

Andrea M. Spaeth, PhD
Rutgers School of Arts and Sciences

Thank You

The Sleep Research Society Foundation is so thankful for all of our current member Appeal donors. Without your support, none of this would be possible.


Chiara Cirelli, MD, PhD
Christopher M. Depner, PhD
Kristen L. Knutson, PhD


Elizabeth B. Klerman, MD, PhD
Megan E. Petrov, PhD


Jeff Borchardt
Vincent Buono
Philip Cheng, PhD
Sarah Farabi, PhD
Martica Hall, PhD
John Noel
Kathryn Reid, PhD
Samantha M. Riedy
Andrea M. Spaeth, PhD


Josiane L. Broussard, PhD
Mary A. Carskadon, PhD
Judith A. Floyd, PhD
Brian K. Gehlbach, MD
Heinrich Gompf, PhD
H. Craig Heller, PhD
Kun Hu, PhD
Daniel Lee, MD
James T. McKenna, PhD
Stephen H. Sheldon, DO
James K. Walsh, PhD

Less than $100

Jonathan Cedernaes, MD, PhD
Olga Galli
Jennifer R. Goldschmied, PhD
Erica Wager
Kenneth Wright, Jr., PhD
Lora J. Wu

Help Support the SRSF

Make a Donation

Make a single donation today to support the SRSF.

Donate Today

Make a Pledge

Complete an SRSF Annual Appeal Donor Form.

Make a Pledge

*Based on additional research funding secured by SRSF award winners from 2005 to 2017.